#SaludTues Tweetchat 2/21: Heart and Soul Food for Latinos

by

latina heart girl
Share On Social!

Latinos have a good news/bad news “heart” relationship.

Bad: Latinos face higher risks of heart disease than others.

Good: Lifestyle changes—like eating the right foods—can reduce risk.

Bad: Latinos face cultural, linguistic, and other barriers to making those changes.

Good: Let’s use #SaludTues on Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2017, to tweet in English and Spanish about the latest ways to use food, nutrition, and other strategies to help Latinos adopt healthier heart habits for American Heart Month in February:

  • WHAT: #SaludTues Bilingual Tweetchat: “Heart and Soul Food for Latinos”
  • TIME/DATE: 1-2 p.m. ET (Noon-1 p.m. CT), Tuesday, Feb. 21, 2017
  • WHERE: On Twitter with hashtag #SaludTues
  • HOST: @SaludToday
  • CO-HOSTS: Texas A&M Health Science Center (@TAMHSC), FDA Office of Minority Health (@FDAOMH), FDA En Español (@FDAenEspanol)
  • SPECIAL GUEST: Dr. John Irwin of Baylor Scott & White Health and Texas A&M Health Science Center (@HeartOTXHeartMD)
  • Optional hashtags: #TAMUHealth #AmericanHeartMonth #HeartMonth

We’ll open the floor to your comments, tips, and stories as we explore:

  • What’s the state of Latino heart health?
  • What dietary and other changes can benefit your heart?
  • How often should Latinos have their blood pressure cholesterol levels checked?
  • Who are your heart health heroes?

See our full Tweetchat schedule.

#SaludTues is a weekly Tweetchat on Latino health at 12p CST/1p ET every Tuesday hosted by @SaludToday, the Latino health social media campaign of the Institute for Health Promotion Research (IHPR) at UT Health San Antonio and its Salud America! obesity prevention program funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Explore More:

Latino Obesity

By The Numbers By The Numbers

We currently do not have any By the Number Facts related to this issue.

Share your thoughts